Services covered by the standard

Find out which government services have to meet the standard and which don’t.


The Digital Service Standard applies to Australian Government services that are:

  • public facing
  • owned by non-corporate Commonwealth entities
  • new informational or transactional services (designed or redesigned after 6 May 2016)
  • existing high-volume transactional services

Applying the standard is an ongoing process and it may take some time to fully meet each criterion. To help you, we provide guidance and tools.

Information services

Information services are typically websites or mobile applications that provide information to the public. This information includes reports, fact sheets and video.

Examples of information services include:

  • government agency websites
  • smart answers and virtual assistants
  • e-learning
  • publications
  • multimedia

Transactional services

Transactional services are any services that lead to a change in the records held by government.

They typically involve an exchange of information, money, licences or goods.

Examples of transactional services include:

  • submitting a claim
  • registering a business
  • updating contact details
  • lodging a tax return

High-volume transactional services

These are services that process (or are likely to process) more than 50,000 transactions every year.

Services not covered by standard

The standard does not apply to state, territory or local government services. However, these jurisdictions may decide to apply the standard to improve their service delivery.

Personal ministerial websites are not included in the scope of the standard. These are websites that contain material on a minister’s political activities or views on issues not related to their ministerial role.

Some services can get full or partial exemptions from the standard. Please email to find out more.

Get in touch

If you have any questions you can get in touch with us at