Winners of the Australian Government Digital Awards 2020

18 November 2020

We held the Australian Government Digital Awards online as part of the Digital Summit 2020. The Awards recognised excellence in government digital products, services, partnerships, and individuals in 8 categories.


Our winners were:

Outstanding digital product or service
Aged Care Provider Portal, Services Australia

Outstanding government platform
Education NSW Digital Connect Network, NSW Department of Education

Outstanding use of emerging technology
Schools Video Livestreaming, NSW Department of Education

Outstanding digital methodology or approach
Next Gen MoneySmart, Australian Securities and Investment Commission

Excellence in government/industry partnership
Electronic Prescribing, Department of Health

Excellence in multi-agency partnership
Helping older Australians get online, eSafety Commissioner

Emerging digital talent
Meagan Carlsson, Department of Premier and Cabinet Victoria

Digital profession
Michael Ashworth, Department of Transport and Main Roads Queensland

The Australian Government Digital Awards were presented by Professor Elanor Huntington (Australian National University), Ron Gauci (Australian Information Industry Association) and Stephanie Foster PSM (Department of Prime Minister & Cabinet.).

Together, our Awards finalists and winners demonstrate the commitment of government and industry, to digital transformation and innovation. The nominations addressed a variety of topics, including aged care, finance, and education, and show the importance of the digital profession. They show that government and industry can respond quickly and smartly to change, with many of the finalists and winning projects responding to or supporting Australians through the crises we have faced in 2020.

We thank all those who also nominated for these Awards.

For media enquiries email us at

For other enquiries email us at