Hosting Certification Framework

The Hosting Certification Framework has significant benefits to government and industry and operationalises the principles outlined in the Whole-of-Government Hosting Strategy.

The Framework is integral to protecting Australian Government systems and the data they hold. It provides guidance to Australian Government departments and agencies enabling them to identify and source hosting services that meet enhanced privacy, sovereignty and security requirements.

Government entities continue to have the autonomy to select the best hosting arrangements for their requirements.

The Framework will continue to be iterated to ensure the Australian Government’s commitment to data security can be met, and so the public can have trust in government systems and the information they hold.

Who the Framework applies to

The Framework applies to:

  • Government customers procuring hosting arrangements for high-value government data, whole-of-government systems or systems rated at the classification level of PROTECTED.
  • Service providers that deliver or manage hosting services to Australian Government customers, including the facilities that host government data, their systems and supply chains.

    Service providers include:

    • Data Centre Providers
    • Cloud Service Providers

Hosting Certification Framework website

The website explains the role and purpose. The framework supports service providers and government customers through each step of their respective processes

It also lists all certified providers under the Framework and helps connect them with government customers, including all of the relevant information and policies that guide the Framework.