Have your say on new marketplace categories

The Digital Transformation Agency (DTA) is replacing the Digital Marketplace in 2024 and improving the way that government buys digital and ICT services. This blog series is your behind-the-scenes insight as it progresses, to understand where the project is heading and why.   

If you haven’t already, you might want to go back to the beginning to read about this project and why we are doing it.

In this instalment, we are seeking your feedback on a proposed list of digital and ICT professional service categories we have developed for the new marketplace.

These categories will determine how the DTA will group and evaluate sellers through a tender process and help form the standards sellers must meet. The categories also shape how buyers find and purchase services through the panel, so it’s important we take the time to ensure it meets the needs of our users.

To develop the short list, we comprehensively reviewed professional services procurements through DTA panels, the categories from other federal and state government panels, and AusTender contract notices. 

We engaged with industry to validate the initial list and emerged with a total of 15 categories. We also sought insights from industry about how it thought sellers should be evaluated for the categories.

We want to hear from you

Has the proposed list of categories and descriptions hit the mark? Whether you are a buyer or seller, we want to hear from you. Tell us by taking a short survey, closing 22 October 2023.

“A critical part of designing the new marketplace is offering professional services categories that are in line with government’s digital needs and industry offerings.” said DTA Director Anthony Conway.

What we found

Feedback from buyers and sellers suggests the existing professional services categories largely meet their needs. However, how we present these categories and services to buyers on the marketplace is critical.

“There is a lot more we can do to help buyers find the right sellers. Our research indicates the new marketplace should support clearer category definitions and improve marketplace search features,” said Anthony Conway.

How we’ll use it  

This research has informed a shortlist of 15 proposed categories and corresponding descriptions. The final list of professional service categories offered under the new marketplace won’t be confirmed until all research phases are complete.

Stay with us  

Keep an eye out for our next blog on exploring the buyer and seller experience.  

If you have something to add to this topic, email us at ICTprocurement@dta.gov.au.