Digital Service Standard criteria

The Digital Service Standard is made up of 13 criteria to help government agencies design and deliver services that are simple, clear and fast.

More information on the Digital Service Standard and how to apply it is available from the Digital Guides.

To successfully apply the Digital Service Standard, government agencies must meet the 13 criteria. For guidance on how to meet the Digital Service Standard, visit the Australian Government’s Digital Guides

1 Understand user needs

Understand user needs. Research to develop a deep knowledge of the users and their context for the service.

2 Have a multidisciplinary team

Establish a sustainable multidisciplinary team to design, build, operate and iterate the service, led by an experienced product manager with decision-making responsibility.

3 Agile and user-centred process

Design and build the service using the service design and delivery process, taking an agile and user-centred approach.

4 Understand tools and systems

Understand the tools and systems required to build, host, operate and measure the service and how to adopt, adapt or procure them.

5 Make it secure

Identify the data and information the service will use or create. Put appropriate legal, privacy and security measures in place.

6 Consistent and responsive design

Build the service with responsive design methods using common design patterns and the style guide.

7 Use open standards and common platforms

Build using open standards and common government platforms where appropriate.

8 Make source code open

Make all new source code open by default.

9 Make it accessible

Ensure the service is accessible to all users regardless of their ability and environment.

10 Test the service

Test the service from end to end, in an environment that replicates the live version.

11 Measure performance

Measure performance against KPIs set out in the guides. Report on public dashboard.

12 Don’t forget the non-digital experience

Ensure that people who use the digital service can also use the other available channels if needed, without repetition or confusion.

13 Encourage everyone to use the digital service

Encourage users to choose the digital service and consolidate or phase out existing alternative channels where appropriate.

Back to top

How to meet the Digital Service Standard

Applying the standard is an ongoing process and it may take some time to fully meet each criterion. 

To help you, we provide expert guidance and host training sessions where you can come and learn in person.

Back to top


Download these posters to display and use around your agency:

We’ve adapted the Digital Service Standard from the UK Government’s Digital Service Standard under the Open Government Licence v2.0.

Back to top

Get in touch

If you have any questions you can get in touch with us at