Services covered by the Digital Service Standard

Find out if the Digital Service Standard applies to your digital service.

Services covered 

The Digital Service Standard 2.0 covers informational, transactional and staff-facing services. 

Informational services

Informational services provide information to users such as reports, fact sheets or videos. They may include: 

  • government agency websites 
  • smart answers and virtual assistants 
  • e-learning 
  • publications 
  • multimedia.

Transactional services

Transactional services lead to a change in government-held records, typically involving an exchange of information, money, licences or goods. Examples of transactional services include: 

  • submitting a claim 
  • registering a business 
  • updating contact details 
  • lodging a tax return.

Staff-facing services

Staff facing services are services created for government employees to provide information or support transactions. They may include: 

  • intranets 
  • learning management systems 
  • records management systems 
  • case/client management systems 
  • decision-making systems. 

Services not covered by the Standard

The Digital Service Standard does not apply to: 

  • existing staff facing services 
  • state, territory or local government services 
  • personal ministerial websites that contain material on a minister’s political activities or views on issues not related to their ministerial role. 

Services aren't mandated to meet the Digital Service Standard may still choose to apply it to improve their digital services.

Digital Service Standard Resources