Domain and Capability Model

To help navigate the architecture, the DTA has developed a model to group government capabilities into an integrated set of 11 domains.

Video: Vision for a digitally enabled nation

11 Domains

Citizen experience

The citizen experience domain includes the capabilities required for the delivery of modern digital services to citizens, for example, through the MyGov portal.


  • non-digital channels
  • digital portal
  • interactions management
  • personalisation
  • content management
  • digital identity

Business experience

The business experience domain includes the capabilities required to deliver a modern digital experience to support businesses in seeking information from the government and meeting their obligations.


  • channel management
  • digital operations
  • service management
  • service determination
  • identity management
  • business advisory
  • single view of business
  • customer communication.

Staff experience

The staff experience domain is focused on capabilities required to enable a digitally empowered and well connected workforce to increase staff productivity. By increasing collaboration across teams, insights, ideas and efficiencies can be realised across government.


  • digital workplace
  • communications and collaboration
  • knowledge management
  • automation.

Government service delivery

The government service delivery domain underpins the three experience domains and includes the enabling capabilities required for shared service delivery operations that support the seamless delivery of connected government services.


  • payments
  • eligibility and entitlements
  • grants management
  • third party management
  • permissions
  • claims/case management.


The integration domain is underpinned by standardised integration principles for a common approach to integration and orchestration to enable connected government services and support agility through reuse.


  • agency / API gateway
  • WofG secure data exchange
  • WofG integration standards
  • orchestration and choreography.

Back to top

Shared data and insights

The shared data and insights domain includes the enabling analytics capabilities required to support management and cross-agency sharing of information. The focus is to provide key insights from shared data to support and improve government policy, program and operations.


  • data infrastructure
  • data stewardship
  • data curation
  • data usage licenses
  • operational analytics
  • business intelligence and analytics
  • metadata and semantics standards
  • advanced analytics
  • open datasets.


The security domain includes the enabling capabilities required for the effective protection of systems and networks from information disclosure, theft or damage as well as disruption of government services and operations.


  • physical security
  • system security
  • endpoint security
  • cyber
  • data security
  • authentication and authorisation.

Business reference

The business reference domain includes the capabilities required for agencies to operate core business functions, including workforce and financial management.


  • financial management
  • workforce management
  • fraud and risk management
  • knowledge management
  • procurement and sourcing
  • legal and policy
  • communications
  • facility and asset management.

Technology reference

The technology reference domain includes the capabilities required to deliver, run and manage the ICT that enables the delivery of digital services.


  • IT service management
  • infrastructure
  • IT risk management
  • software engineering and DevOps.

Emerging technology

The emerging technology domain comprises the principles, guardrails and innovation process to help agencies adopt emerging technologies.


  • opportunity identification
  • concept development
  • operationalisation.

Agency capabilities

The agency capabilities domain includes the agency specific capabilities that are critical to the delivery of government outcomes, however may offer only limited opportunity for cross-agency reuse.

Get in touch

If you are interested in accessing more information, contributing feedback and being kept up to date as the architecture is iteratively developed and refined, please contact to find out more.